top of page

To My Parents - THANK YOU for your trust

Every day we wake up and send our kids to school. We have trust in the teachers and staff in the building. We believe that they will care for our children and keep them safe and teach them. We also want to know that you love our child as much as we do. We trust that you will give them a chance and forgive them when they make mistakes. That you will support them and teach them how to correct wrong-doings. That you will laugh at their jokes and show empathy when they are sad. That you will listen to them when they just need a friend and that you will do all you can to keep their whole selves safe. 


As a teacher-mom, I understand this trust and need from parents because I do the same thing every day with my own children. I send them off to school with the hopes that they will be safe and feel accepted, supported and loved. So today, I just want to take a moment and sayTHANK YOU. 


Thank you for trusting me with your children day after day. Thank you for communicating with me when you are worried. Thank you for supporting my role as a teacher in your child's life. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to know your child. Thank you for trusting me in such a way that I now have someone new in my heart. 


Just as there is a beginning, there is also an end. And at that end every year I cry. Great, big sobbing tears on the way home. Because I know that I will not see or hear from the majority of these kids again. I know that a piece of my heart is gone, but that they will always have that piece. I hope I have communicated this to them through my actions all year. I want them to walk out of my classroom at the end of the year with more confidence in themselves as a learner and a person. I want them to think of me every time they find a new book that they love. And I look forward to the days when they stop by for a quick visit-just long enough for a hello and a hug-because those days make my heart swell with love and gratitude. 


So, again, thank you for sharing your child with me day after day. It has been a valuable gift to learn and grow from your child. A gift I will never take for granted.💕💕💕

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Monday - in 2019

Note: This was written before I learned what 2020 could bring us! We've all been there. You go into school with plans to WOW the students with your lessons, and right when you hit the door....everythi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page