top of page

I may actually be getting the hang of this "remote teaching"...

Maybe. Sometimes I feel like I am. Other times I feel like I am failing all the way around. This week definitely had both. Teaching has never been as difficult as it is right now. But, just like when we are in the classroom, those moments that hit "just right" are the ones that make it worth it. For instance, I only had ONE of these moments this week, but I am celebrating every win I possibly can!


This week my students cheered when I said we would be doing a collaborative document. It seems like I have finally found a favorite activity of my students and that makes me so happy! We have been focusing on looking closely at the sequence of events in a story and determining how it is significant to the plot. We use Edpuzzle LIVE for the first time - LOVE THIS! - and then shared our thinking on a collaborative document that focused on thinking routines.

After our thinking routine, students continued to add important events to their notebook and then determined which one is the most significant to the plot and found citations from the text to support our thinking. These citations and events will be used later in the book when we complete a writing response, so this scaffolding activity is extremely important for student success at a later date.


In what ways have you used collaborative docs since the remote learning shutdown? What have your successes been to engage students in learning activities like this?

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Book Creator - a tool I wish I started using ages ago!

If you have never used Book Creator I suggest you start! It is a freemium. Which I hate. Money is tight and I already spend too much every year on my students. However, I will fork over the money for

Remote Learning ~ a 6-week reflection

We have been remote learning for 6 weeks. I have learned many useful things over the course of these 6-weeks: how to engage students, how to scaffold instruction for the new learning environment, and

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page